Check out Honors Convocation 2019 (and Gathering Days).


Honors Convocation is a wonderful time to celebrate the accomplishments of students, staff, and faculty (in an interactive environment).

Invite your family and friends. Don’t miss it!

Due to the impact of the coronavirus crisis, we will be going virtual this year.

For the Zoom link and password, please check the email from Chapel Dean Rev. Dr. Cathie Kelsey. If you have not received it, please email her at:

Here is the Honors Convocation program 2020.

When:         Wednesday, April 22nd at 12:00 noon (MST)

Where:        On Zoom together

Speaker:     Professor Katherine Turpin

Music:         Jenny LaJoye

Here are links to the songs by Jenny LaJoye:

* Opening:

* Closing:


A note from Dr. Kelsey about this year’s virtual Honors Convocation:

The most excellent part this year: you won’t have to sit on the hard pews in the Chapel…

The sad part: no high fives, fist bumps, or physical contact. So get your voices ready to cheer instead.

Watch a video recording of the address presented by Professor Katherine Turpin.


Elizabeth Iliff Warren Fellowship
The Elizabeth Iliff Warren Fellowships were presented to the School in 1925 by Louise Iliff in memory of her mother, Elizabeth Iliff Warren. Both women were founders of the Iliff School of Theology. This fellowship provides funding to students who wish to pursue further graduate work. The fellowships are based on excellence in scholarship and a plan of study approved by the faculty. Fellowships are awarded for one year.
The award goes to: Isabela Rosales

The Maryann Downs Scholarship  
Awarded to women entering parish ministry in the Rocky Mountain Conference of the United Methodist Church.
There are two recipients this year: Liza Stoltz Hanson and Genevieve Rohret-Navin

The Hoyt Hickman Award for Outstanding Liturgical Scholarship and Practice
Given to the graduating student who (1) has given evidence of a high quality of scholarship in the study of liturgy, and (2) is an effective leader of Christian worship.  The award is presented by the Order of St. Luke.
The award goes to: Jenny LaJoye

Dr. Larry Kent Graham Scholarship
Given to an Iliff student, or students, pursuing a MAPSC degree or a student enrolled in the Joint Ph.D. program. Larry Kent Graham was Professor of Pastoral Theology and Care at Iliff from 1977 to 2014.
There are two recipients this year: Jesse O’Neal and Meredith Parfet

The Ronald E. Sleeth Preaching Award  
This award recognizes a graduating student who has achieved excellence in preaching.  The recipient demonstrates responsible biblical interpretation, contemporary application, and effective communication.
The award goes to Theresa Bowen

Academic Program Awards

The Degree Program Awards annually honor the students who have demonstrated a significant commitment to and development with respect to the learning goals of the degree program and have the highest GPA (evaluated in conjunction with an analysis of the competitiveness of course credit load and number of courses taken for a grade) for the following degree programs:

Master of Arts in Pastoral & Spiritual Care
There are two recipients this year: Max Christopher and Julie Hiramatsu

Master of Arts in Social Justice & Ethics
The award goes to Linda Newell

Master of Divinity
There are two recipients this year: Paul Grossman and Deborah Dahlke

Master of Theological Studies
The award goes to Amelia Romo

Masters Student of the Year Award  
This award is determined by the Iliff Faculty and honors a graduating student, or students, for scholarship, leadership and service within the life of the school, and promise for future service to society.
There are two recipients this year: Isabela Rosales and Matthew David Morris

Staff of the Year


The award goes to Justin Barber, Lead Data Scientist.

“This person is exceedingly generous and patient and provides robust solutions with thoughtful analysis. Everything this person does adds value to iliff as a community and as an organization.”

“This person is also exceedingly good at their job but never worries about advertising that fact.”

This person always makes time to help anyone who needs it no matter what kind of project they are working on. I think this person exemplifies the Iliff spirit.”