We are pleased to announce that Dr. Kwok Pui Lan is the 2021 Everding Distinguished Lecturer. Currently Dean’s Distinguished Professor of Theology at the Candler School of Theology in Emory University, Dr. Kwok was also a faculty member of the Episcopal Divinity School in Cambridge in MA for 25 years.

A leading scholar of postcolonial theology, feminist studies in religion, Asian/American theologies, and political theology in a global context, Dr. Kwok was the first Asian/American president of the American Academy of Religion in 2011. She has also authored over twenty books including: Postcolonial Imagination and Feminist Theology; Occupy Religion; Introducing Asian Feminist Theology; Postcolonial Practice of Ministry; Empire and the Christian Tradition; and the forth coming Postcolonial Political Theology.

As an Everding Distinguished Lecturer, Dr. Kwok will give a public lecture on Tuesday (October 12) at 7 pm. Depending on guidance from the health authorities on the pandemic, we will determine if it is possible that the lecture will be an in-person event at Iliff. Dr. Kwok will also be teaching a class on “Postcolonial Politics and Theology,” a 2-credit hybrid class, and attend our Gathering Days.

In addition to events at Iliff, Dr. Kowk will do two other public events at St. John’s Cathedral, a partner organization of the Everding Lectureship:

– Public Talk on Sunday, October 10 @ 2:00 p.m.

– Preaching at St John’s Wednesday Evening Service , October 13

The Everding Distinguished Lectureship was created in partnership between Iliff and Saint John’s Episcopal Cathedral of Denver, supported by the annual fund from Ms. Lee Everding, a member of the Cathedral, whose late husband was a dean at Iliff. This lecture series seeks to educate the community on inter-religious and intercultural topics while nurturing the spiritual life of both communities.

To attend the public lecture, please RSVP:

Dr. Kwok (third from the left) with the Pacific, Asian, and North American Asian Women in Theology and Ministry (PANAAWTM) board members at Iliff (2019).