Members of our Iliff faculty, one–third of whom are people of color, represent a wide variety of denominations and faiths, including American Baptist, Buddhist, Catholic, Christian Church (Disciples of Christ), Episcopal, Jewish, Lutheran (ELCA), Presbyterian Church (USA), United Church of Christ and United Methodist. Each of our Iliff faculty has an extraordinary commitment to teaching and scholarship that ensures an enriching and rewarding learning environment, while their dedication to developing caring, collegial relationships nurtures and challenges each student in ways textbooks and lectures cannot.

Our Core Faculty

Albert Hernández

Associate Professor of the History of Christianity

Amy Erickson

Professor of Hebrew Bible

Antony W. Alumkal

Associate Professor of Sociology of Religion

April M. Mack

Assistant Professor of Religion and Social Justice 

Director of the Master of Social Justice and Ethics Program

Boyung Lee

Professor of Practical Theology

Catherine Kelsey

Interim Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Interim Dean of the Faculty.

Eric C. Smith

Associate Professor of Early Christian Texts and Traditions

Jacob N. Kinnard

Professor of Comparative Religions

Director of the Master of Theological Studies degree

Katherine Turpin

Professor of Practical Theology and Religious Education

Director of the Master of Divinity Program

Kishundra King

Assistant Professor of Pastoral and Spiritual Care

Director of the MAPSC Degree

Kristina Lizardy-Hajbi

Director of the Office of Professional Formation

Associate Professor of Leadership and Formation

Lee H. Butler, Jr.

President & Chief Executive Officer

Bishop Henry White Warren and Elizabeth Iliff Warren Professor of Africana Pastoral Theology

Mark K. George

Professor of Bible and Ancient Systems of Thought

Miguel A. De La Torre

Professor of Social Ethics and Latinx Studies

Pam Eisenbaum

Professor of Biblical Studies and Christian Origins

Philip Butler

Assistant Professor of Theology and Black Posthuman Artificial Intelligence Systems

Theodore M. Vial, Jr.

Vice President of Innovation, Learning, and Institutional Research

Harvey Potthoff Professor of Theology and Modern Western Religious Thought

Tom Barlow

Term Assistant Professor in Methodist Studies